Looking for a MaxoTel alternative in Australia? Jet Interactive's Business Phone is $25 per user per month, ex GST, with calls and SMS to Australian landlines and mobiles included under a fair use policy, one local number per user, no setup fee and no lock-in contract. MaxoTel, a Toowoomba-based hosted PBX provider that acquired Vonex in October 2025, publishes three per-user plans with GST included: Everyday PAYG from $9.95 per user per month (minimum 2 users) with local and national calls at 10c, Australian mobiles at 13c a minute and 13/1300 calls at 22c; Outright/BYO at $29.95 per user per month ($27.23 ex GST) with Australian calls included subject to fair use; and MaxoPhone from $29.95 with a Yealink handset on a term of up to 24 months. MaxoTel includes IVR and call queues in every plan, where Jet charges $25 and $50 a month per account; call recording is a $10 a month add-on at both, per PBX at MaxoTel and per number with AI call summaries at Jet. Jet runs its own Australian carrier network and sells 1300/1800 numbers, call tracking and Cloud Mobile numbers on the same account.
Updated November 2026. All prices AUD; Jet prices are ex GST, and MaxoTel figures say where MaxoTel publishes GST-inclusive prices or does not state GST. MaxoTel figures were retrieved from the pages listed under Sources on 29 October 2026; Jet figures are from Jet's pricing page and Critical Information Summary. See Jet Business Phone for the full feature set.
Jet vs MaxoTel: side by side
Every row is either published by the provider on the cited page or marked as not published.
| Jet Interactive | MaxoTel | |
|---|---|---|
| Per-user monthly price | $25 per user per month (Calls Included Plan) | Everyday PAYG from $9.95 per user per month ($19.90 for the first 2 users, then $9.95 a user); Outright/BYO $29.95 per user per month; MaxoPhone $29.95 to $49.95 per user per month with a handset. MaxoTel's prices include GST: $29.95 is $27.23 ex GST and $9.95 is $9.05 ex GST |
| How it is sold | Per user per month, month to month, on one account and one bill | Per user per month, with one extension, one number and one line per user; the plans can be mixed on one account |
| Calls included (AU landline and mobile) | Calls and SMS to Australian landlines and mobiles included under Jet's Fair Use Policy; calls to 13 and 1300 numbers 30c | Outright/BYO and MaxoPhone: local, national, Australian mobile and 13/1300 calls included, subject to fair use. Everyday PAYG: local and national calls 10c each, Australian mobiles 13c a minute, 13/1300 calls 22c each |
| Minimum users | 3 users | 2 users on Everyday PAYG; Outright/BYO and MaxoPhone are listed as suitable for 1 to 1,000+ users |
| Contract or lock-in | No lock-in contract; 1-month minimum term | Everyday PAYG and Outright/BYO are month to month with no minimum term and no early termination charge; MaxoPhone handset plans run 1, 12 or 24 months, with a minimum charge of $728.75 over 24 months on the Standard handset plan |
| Setup fee | $0 | Hosted PBX setup free, new standard number free, first standard port free; MaxoPhone handset plans carry a setup fee of $0 to $249 depending on handset and term |
| Australian number included | Yes, one local Australian number per user; free to port in, $50 to port out | Yes, one standard Australian geographic number per user; additional numbers $2 a month each |
| Softphone apps | Mobile and desktop softphone included | Smartphone, tablet and PC/Mac softphone apps supported on every plan |
| Desk phone requirement | Optional; Yealink T54W $407 outright or $30 a month over 24 months | Optional; buy from MaxoTel's shop (Yealink T54W $360.80, T57W $419), bring your own SIP phone, or rent on a MaxoPhone or Freedom plan |
| Call recording | $10 a month per number, inbound and outbound, with AI call summaries | $10 a month add-on on every plan, covering all inbound and outbound calls on the PBX, with 1GB of storage included and extra storage $1 per GB a month |
| IVR / auto attendant | $25 a month per account | Auto attendant (IVR) included on every plan |
| Call queues | $50 a month per account; geographic and postcode routing $50 a month per account each | Call queues included on every plan; ACD queue statistics and custom hold music included with 4 or more users |
| CRM integration | CRM Sync $40 a month per account | Not published on the pricing page |
| Australian support | Australian-based team by email and portal; Jet is based in St Kilda, Victoria | Australian support from Harristown (Toowoomba), Queensland, on 1800 12 12 10, with a "one minute support call promise" and over-the-phone setup |
| Hosting / network | Jet's own Australian carrier network; the app uses your device's internet connection | MaxoTel's own hosted PBX platform, built in-house; MaxoTel became the sole owner of Vonex on 20 October 2025 |
Jet prices are from jetinteractive.com.au/pricing, the hardware page and the Business Phone Pricing and Critical Information Summary (PDF), version October 2026. Included calls and texts are for normal business use and subject to Jet's Fair Use Policy. Charged calls are billed in one-minute increments with a two-minute minimum. 13/1300, international and diverted calls are not included. MaxoTel's pricing page states that its prices include GST; ex-GST figures above divide by 1.1. The Outright/BYO plan on the pricing page corresponds to the Basic BYO and Softphone plans in MaxoTel's MaxoPhone Critical Information Summary, which list a 1-month term at $29.95 with no setup fee. Included calls on MaxoTel are subject to fair use terms that exclude outbound call centre, telemarketing and similar use.
The row no competitor has: staff on their own phones. Every system here has a mobile app for a desk extension. Jet also sells Cloud Mobile, a real Australian mobile number that lives in an app on the staff member's own phone at $35 per user per month, on the same account and bill as Business Phone users. Sales reps, tradespeople and part-time staff get a business mobile number callers can text, without a company handset or a second SIM, and the number stays with the business when they leave. Mix Business Phone and Cloud Mobile users freely; see how a business number on a personal mobile works.
What a 5-user and a 10-user office pays a month
Entry plans, billed monthly where the provider offers it, with calls as the plan includes them. Add-ons, desk phones and setup excluded. Where a provider does not include numbers or calls, the line says what is still to add.
| Plan | 5 users a month | 10 users a month | How it is calculated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jet Business Phone, Calls Included Plan | $125.00 | $250.00 | $25 × users; Australian calls and SMS included |
| MaxoTel Outright / BYO, month to month | $149.75 inc GST ($136.14 ex GST) | $299.50 inc GST ($272.27 ex GST) | $29.95 × users; Australian calls included subject to fair use |
| MaxoTel Everyday PAYG | $49.75 inc GST + calls | $99.50 inc GST + calls | $19.90 for the first 2 users + $9.95 × additional users; every local, national and mobile call charged |
Who should pick which
Pick Jet if
- You want ex-GST per-user pricing with calls and SMS included, and call recording with AI summaries per number.
- You want 1300/1800 numbers, call tracking and the phone system on one account and one bill from the carrier itself.
- You want the mobile and desktop softphone included, with an optional Yealink desk phone at $30 a month rather than a handset-based contract.
- Some staff should take the business number on their own mobile with a Cloud Mobile number on the same bill.
Pick MaxoTel if
- You make very few outbound calls and want the lowest possible monthly fee on a per-call plan from $9.95 a user.
- You want IVR, call queues and queue statistics included in the plan rather than as add-ons.
- You want to rent handsets month to month on the Freedom plan, or bundle them on a MaxoPhone contract.
Frequently asked questions
Is Jet or MaxoTel cheaper for a small business phone system in Australia?
On plans with calls included, Jet is $25 per user per month ex GST and MaxoTel's Outright/BYO plan is $29.95 including GST, which is $27.23 ex GST. For a 5-user office that is $125 at Jet against $136.14 ex GST ($149.75 inc GST) at MaxoTel. MaxoTel's Everyday PAYG plan has a lower monthly fee, from $9.95 a user, but charges 10c for every local and national call and 13c a minute to mobiles, so the comparison depends on how much your team calls out.
Does MaxoTel include calls?
On Outright/BYO and MaxoPhone, yes: local, national, Australian mobile and 13/1300 calls are included subject to MaxoTel's fair use terms. On Everyday PAYG no calls are included: local and national calls are 10c each, Australian mobiles 13c a minute and 13/1300 calls 22c each. Jet's $25 plan includes calls and SMS to Australian landlines and mobiles under its fair use policy, with 13/1300 calls at 30c.
Does MaxoTel lock you into a contract?
Not on Everyday PAYG or Outright/BYO: MaxoTel's Critical Information Summaries state no minimum term and no early termination charges on those plans. MaxoPhone plans with a rented handset are sold on 1, 12 or 24-month terms, and the pricing page shows a minimum charge of $728.75 over 24 months on the Standard handset plan. Jet is month to month with a 1-month minimum term and no setup fee.
Is MaxoTel the same company as Vonex?
MaxoTel acquired Vonex Limited through a scheme of arrangement implemented on 20 October 2025, so Vonex is now a wholly owned part of the MaxoTel group. Both brands still publish their own plans and prices; see our Jet vs Vonex comparison for Vonex's ONdesk plans.
What does Jet offer that MaxoTel does not?
Jet Cloud Mobile: a real Australian mobile number in an app on the staff member's own phone at $35 per user per month, on the same account and bill as Business Phone users. MaxoTel lists virtual mobile numbers as an add-on but does not publish the price on its plans page. Jet also runs its own Australian carrier network and sells 1300/1800 numbers and call tracking on the same account.
Sources
- MaxoTel plans and pricing (the page states that prices include GST): https://www.maxo.com.au/plans-and-pricing, retrieved 29 October 2026.
- MaxoTel Critical Information Summary: Everyday PAYG plan: https://www.maxo.com.au/cis/MaxoTel-CIS-720.pdf, retrieved 29 October 2026.
- MaxoTel Critical Information Summary: MaxoPhone plans (Basic BYO and Softphone at $29.95 on a 1-month term): https://www.maxo.com.au/cis/MaxoTel-CIS-722.pdf, retrieved 29 October 2026.
- MaxoTel news: Scheme of Arrangement approved by shareholders and Supreme Court (Vonex acquisition implemented 20 October 2025): https://www.maxo.com.au/news/scheme-of-arrangement-approved-by-shareholders-and-supreme-court, retrieved 29 October 2026.
About this comparison. Jet figures are from Jet's current published pricing and Critical Information Summary. MaxoTel figures are taken from MaxoTel's own public Australian pricing pages and documents on the retrieval dates shown and may have changed since. "Not published" means the detail did not appear on the cited page on that date; we have not assumed anything a provider does not state. All prices are AUD and ex GST unless the row says the provider publishes GST-inclusive prices or does not state GST. Confirm current terms with each provider before you buy. If you spot an error, tell us at jetinteractive.com.au/get-started and we will correct it.