Looking for a Vonex alternative in Australia? Jet Interactive's Business Phone is $25 per user per month, ex GST, with calls and SMS to Australian landlines and mobiles included under a fair use policy, one local number per user, no setup fee and no lock-in contract. Vonex, a Brisbane-based hosted PBX provider that became part of the MaxoTel group in October 2025, sells ONdesk per extension with GST included: Lite is $10.25 a month with every call charged, Traveller (softphone app) and Freedom (bring your own handset) are $29.95 ($27.23 ex GST) with unlimited local, national and mobile calls, and the Business to Conference plans at $34.95 to $74.95 bundle a rented Yealink handset on a 36-month contract only. Month-to-month ONdesk extensions carry a $25 establishment fee, each extra IVR or hunt group is $5 a month, and the mobile app is $3 a month per extension outside the Traveller plan. Jet's recording with AI summaries is $10 a month per number and IVR $25 a month per account; Vonex does not publish a call recording price.

Updated November 2026. All prices AUD; Jet prices are ex GST, and Vonex figures say where Vonex publishes GST-inclusive prices or does not state GST. Vonex figures were retrieved from the pages listed under Sources on 29 October 2026; Jet figures are from Jet's pricing page and Critical Information Summary. See Jet Business Phone for the full feature set.

Jet vs Vonex: side by side

Every row is either published by the provider on the cited page or marked as not published.

Jet InteractiveVonex
Per-user monthly price$25 per user per month (Calls Included Plan)ONdesk Lite $10.25, Traveller $29.95, Freedom $29.95, Business $34.95, Executive $44.95, Premium $55.95, Collaborate $64.95 or Conference $74.95 per extension per month, GST included ($29.95 is $27.23 ex GST); ONsip SIP lines $11 (Lite) or $39.95 (Business)
How it is soldPer user per month, month to month, on one account and one billPer extension per month on a Vonex-hosted PBX, on 1-month, 12, 24 or 36-month terms, with up to 5% off on 24 months and up to 10% off on 36 months
Calls included (AU landline and mobile)Calls and SMS to Australian landlines and mobiles included under Jet's Fair Use Policy; calls to 13 and 1300 numbers 30cTraveller, Freedom and the handset plans include calls to local, national and Australian mobile numbers; Lite charges 10c per local or national call and 20c a minute to mobiles; calls to 13/1300 numbers are 25c on every plan
Minimum users3 usersNot published
Contract or lock-inNo lock-in contract; 1-month minimum term1-month minimum on Lite, Traveller and Freedom; 36 months on any plan with handset rental; cancelling early costs up to 75% of the remaining monthly fees
Setup fee$0$25 establishment fee per extension on a 1-month contract; $0 on 12, 24 and 36-month contracts; complex programming $10 or $25 per handset
Australian number includedYes, one local Australian number per user; free to port in, $50 to port outYes, one new geographic number per extension; extra geographic numbers $2 a month, number porting $30 per number
Softphone appsMobile and desktop softphone includedVonex mobile app $3 a month per extension; included free on the Traveller plan
Desk phone requirementOptional; Yealink T54W $407 outright or $30 a month over 24 monthsOptional on Lite, Traveller and Freedom (bring your own); rented Yealink handsets on Business (T53W or W78P), Executive (T54W) and Premium (T57W) are 36-month plans
Call recording$10 a month per number, inbound and outbound, with AI call summariesNot published on the pricing page or Critical Information Summary
IVR / auto attendant$25 a month per accountAuto attendant listed as a feature; each additional IVR or hunt group $5 a month
Call queues$50 a month per account; geographic and postcode routing $50 a month per account eachCall queue with optional callback listed as a feature
CRM integrationCRM Sync $40 a month per accountNot published
Australian supportAustralian-based team by email and portal; Jet is based in St Kilda, VictoriaBusiness support on 1800 828 668 and by email; Vonex is based in Milton, Queensland
Hosting / networkJet's own Australian carrier network; the app uses your device's internet connectionPBX hosted by Vonex; Vonex has been wholly owned by MaxoTel since 20 October 2025 and continues under the Vonex brand

Jet prices are from jetinteractive.com.au/pricing, the hardware page and the Business Phone Pricing and Critical Information Summary (PDF), version October 2026. Included calls and texts are for normal business use and subject to Jet's Fair Use Policy. Charged calls are billed in one-minute increments with a two-minute minimum. 13/1300, international and diverted calls are not included. Vonex's Critical Information Summary states that all prices include GST; ex-GST figures above divide by 1.1. ONdesk is priced per extension (a handset or app login), which for most offices is one per user. Vonex's CIS states the service is not available for telemarketing, call centre or similar use.

The row no competitor has: staff on their own phones. Every system here has a mobile app for a desk extension. Jet also sells Cloud Mobile, a real Australian mobile number that lives in an app on the staff member's own phone at $35 per user per month, on the same account and bill as Business Phone users. Sales reps, tradespeople and part-time staff get a business mobile number callers can text, without a company handset or a second SIM, and the number stays with the business when they leave. Mix Business Phone and Cloud Mobile users freely; see how a business number on a personal mobile works.

What a 5-user and a 10-user office pays a month

Entry plans, billed monthly where the provider offers it, with calls as the plan includes them. Add-ons, desk phones and setup excluded. Where a provider does not include numbers or calls, the line says what is still to add.

Plan5 users a month10 users a monthHow it is calculated
Jet Business Phone, Calls Included Plan$125.00$250.00$25 × users; Australian calls and SMS included
Vonex ONdesk Traveller or Freedom, 1-month contract$149.75 inc GST ($136.14 ex GST) + $125 establishment$299.50 inc GST ($272.27 ex GST) + $250 establishment$29.95 × extensions; $25 establishment fee per extension on a 1-month term; unlimited standard calls
Vonex ONdesk Lite, 1-month contract$51.25 inc GST + calls + $125 establishment$102.50 inc GST + calls + $250 establishment$10.25 × extensions; every call charged; $25 establishment fee per extension

Who should pick which

Pick Jet if

  • You want no establishment fee and no 36-month handset contract: Jet is $0 setup and month to month, with an optional Yealink T54W at $30 a month over 24 months.
  • You want call recording with AI summaries at a published price, and IVR and queues as flat monthly add-ons.
  • You want the mobile and desktop softphone included for every user rather than $3 a month per extension.
  • Some staff should take the business number on their own mobile with a Cloud Mobile number on the same bill.

Pick Vonex if

  • You want a rented handset bundled into the monthly fee and are comfortable with a 36-month term.
  • You want a low-fee extension at $10.25 a month for a phone that rarely dials out.
  • You want internet, mobile SIMs and the phone system bundled on one Vonex bill.

Frequently asked questions

Is Jet or Vonex cheaper for a small business phone system in Australia?

Per user with calls included, Jet is $25 ex GST and Vonex ONdesk Traveller or Freedom is $29.95 including GST, which is $27.23 ex GST. For a 5-user office on a month-to-month term that is $125 at Jet against $136.14 ex GST at Vonex, plus a one-off $125 in establishment fees at Vonex ($25 per extension). Vonex waives the establishment fee on 12, 24 and 36-month contracts and discounts those terms by up to 5% and 10%.

Does Vonex include calls?

On ONdesk Traveller, Freedom and the handset plans, yes: Vonex's Critical Information Summary says the monthly fee includes all calls to local, national and Australian mobile numbers, with 13/1300 calls at 25c. ONdesk Lite includes no calls: local and national calls are 10c each and mobiles 20c a minute. Jet's $25 plan includes calls and SMS to Australian landlines and mobiles under its fair use policy, with 13/1300 calls at 30c.

Does Vonex lock you into a contract?

ONdesk Lite, Traveller and Freedom can be taken on a 1-month term with a $25 establishment fee per extension, or on 12, 24 or 36-month terms with no establishment fee and a discount. Any plan that includes a rented handset is 36 months only, and cancelling early costs up to 75% of the remaining monthly fees. Jet is month to month with a 1-month minimum term and no setup fee.

What happened to MyNetFone, and is Vonex the same thing?

Vonex bought MyNetFone's small business and residential customers from MNF Group (now Symbio) in 2021 and migrated them onto the Vonex platform; the MyNetFone website now redirects to Symbio. Vonex itself was acquired by MaxoTel in October 2025 and continues under the Vonex brand. See our Jet vs MyNetFone comparison.

What does Jet offer that Vonex does not?

Jet Cloud Mobile: a real Australian mobile number in an app on the staff member's own phone at $35 per user per month, on the same account and bill as Business Phone users. Vonex's Dual Identity feature puts your fixed number on a mobile; Cloud Mobile gives the staff member a mobile number callers can text. Jet also runs its own Australian carrier network and sells 1300/1800 numbers and call tracking on the same account.

Sources

  1. Vonex cloud calling plans (ONdesk, ONsip and Lineshare): https://vonex.com.au/business-phone-systems/cloud-calling, retrieved 29 October 2026.
  2. Vonex ONdesk Critical Information Summary, version 2.0 issued 25 September 2026 (all prices include GST): https://vonex.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/VonexOndeskCriticalInformationSummary.pdf, retrieved 29 October 2026.
  3. Vonex voice pricing update effective 1 July 2025: https://vonex.com.au/voicepricing, retrieved 29 October 2026.
  4. Vonex: Vonex joins the MaxoTel Group (15 October 2025): https://vonex.com.au/vonex-joins-the-maxotel-group-to-power-the-future-of-australian-cloud-communications, retrieved 29 October 2026.

About this comparison. Jet figures are from Jet's current published pricing and Critical Information Summary. Vonex figures are taken from Vonex's own public Australian pricing pages and documents on the retrieval dates shown and may have changed since. "Not published" means the detail did not appear on the cited page on that date; we have not assumed anything a provider does not state. All prices are AUD and ex GST unless the row says the provider publishes GST-inclusive prices or does not state GST. Confirm current terms with each provider before you buy. If you spot an error, tell us at jetinteractive.com.au/get-started and we will correct it.