A cloud phone system (hosted PBX or VoIP phone system) in Australia costs between $5 and $60 per user per month on published pricing, and the plans most small businesses actually buy, with calls to Australian landlines and mobiles included, sit at $20 to $35 per user per month. Jet Interactive's Business Phone is $25 per user per month ex GST with calls and SMS to Australian landlines and mobiles included, one local number per user, no setup fee and no lock-in. SIPcity's Cloud Connect is $19.99; MaxoTel's Outright/BYO plan and Vonex's ONdesk Traveller are $29.95 including GST ($27.23 ex GST); RingCentral Essentials is $25.99 with 250 outbound minutes; Dialpad Connect Standard is AU$20 billed annually or AU$32 monthly; Aircall Essentials is A$45 billed annually or A$60 monthly with 1,000 outbound minutes; Microsoft Teams Phone with domestic calling is AU$32.90 plus a Microsoft 365 licence; and 3CX is a per-system licence from $485 a year plus hosting and a SIP trunk. A 5-user office therefore pays roughly $100 to $300 a month before add-ons and desk phones, and a 10-user office $200 to $600.
Updated November 2026. All prices AUD. Jet prices are ex GST; where a provider publishes GST-inclusive prices (MaxoTel, Vonex) or does not state GST (SIPcity, Dialpad, Aircall, Aussie Broadband) the tables say so. Competitor prices were retrieved from each provider's public Australian pricing page on 29 October 2026 and are linked in the provider table below. For a feature-by-feature view of each provider against Jet, see the business phone comparison hub.
What a cloud phone system bill is made of
A cloud phone system replaces the PBX box in the cupboard with a service hosted by the provider. Each user gets an extension on an app, a desk phone or both, calls travel over your internet connection, and the bill has up to seven parts. The per-user licence is the number everyone quotes, but the calls, the add-ons and the term usually decide the total.
| Cost component | Published range (Nov 2026) | What it covers and who charges it |
|---|---|---|
| Per-user licence | $5 to $60 per user per month | The extension itself: the app login, the hosted PBX features and usually one phone number. SIPcity Flex is $5 and MaxoTel Everyday PAYG $9.95 with no calls; Jet $25 ex GST, SIPcity $19.99, MaxoTel and Vonex $29.95 inc GST and RingCentral $25.99 with calls or an allowance; Aircall A$60 monthly. Vonex prices per extension rather than per user, and 3CX per system. |
| Calls | Included, an allowance, or 8c to 20c a minute | Jet, MaxoTel Outright/BYO, Vonex Traveller and Freedom, SIPcity Cloud Connect and Aircall Professional include Australian landline and mobile calls. RingCentral Essentials includes 250 outbound minutes, Aircall Essentials 1,000. Entry plans at MaxoTel (10c a call, 13c a minute to mobiles), Vonex Lite (10c a call, 20c a minute) and SIPcity Flex (8c and 12c a minute) charge every call. Microsoft Teams Phone Standard includes no calls at all without a calling plan; 3CX includes none because you bring your own SIP trunk. |
| Phone numbers | $0 to $10 a month per extra number | Most plans include one local number per user (Jet, MaxoTel, Vonex, SIPcity) or one per account (Aircall). Extra numbers are $2 a month at MaxoTel and Vonex, A$9 at Aircall and $10 at Jet. 1300 and 1800 numbers are separate: see how much a 1300 number costs. |
| Desk phones | $0 (app only) to $500 outright, or $5 to $30 a month rented | Optional at every provider on this page. A Yealink T54W is $407 outright or $30 a month over 24 months at Jet, $360.80 at MaxoTel; Vonex bundles it on the $44.95 Executive plan on a 36-month term. Most teams run on the mobile and desktop app alone. |
| Setup or establishment fee | $0 to $25 per extension | Jet, MaxoTel and SIPcity publish no setup fee. Vonex charges $25 per extension on a 1-month term and $0 on 12, 24 and 36-month terms. RingCentral, Dialpad, Aircall and Aussie Broadband do not publish one. |
| Add-ons | $5 to $50 a month each, or a higher plan tier | Call recording, IVR menus, call queues and CRM integration. Jet sells them as flat add-ons ($10 a month per number for recording with AI summaries, $25 IVR, $50 queues, $40 CRM Sync, per account). MaxoTel includes IVR and queues and sells recording for $10. RingCentral, Dialpad and Aircall put some of them on a higher tier; Vonex charges $5 for each extra IVR. |
| Contract or term | Month to month, or 12 to 36 months | Jet, MaxoTel (PAYG and Outright/BYO) and SIPcity are month to month. Vonex, RingCentral, Dialpad and Aircall discount annual or multi-year terms; Vonex handset plans and Aussie Broadband's advertised plan are 36 months. Microsoft Teams Phone is an annual subscription that auto-renews. |
Ranges are the published figures of the ten providers compared on this page and in the comparison hub, retrieved 29 October 2026. Enterprise tiers, contact-centre products and quoted-only plans are excluded.
Worked example: a 5-user and a 10-user office
Take an office of five, then ten, that needs every user to ring Australian landlines and mobiles. Here is the monthly bill on each provider's entry plan that covers that, billed monthly where the provider offers it, before add-ons, desk phones and setup. Where a plan does not include calls or numbers, the row says what is still to add.
| Provider and plan | 5 users a month | 10 users a month | How it is calculated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jet Business Phone, Calls Included Plan | $125.00 | $250.00 | $25 × users, ex GST; Australian calls and SMS included |
| SIPcity Cloud Connect | $99.95 | $199.90 | $19.99 × users; GST status not stated; unlimited local and mobile calls, SMS needs a $10 mobile number add-on |
| Dialpad Connect Standard | $160.00 monthly ($100.00 annual) | $320.00 monthly ($200.00 annual) | AU$32 (or AU$20 paid yearly) × users; GST status not stated; "unlimited calls" with coverage not stated |
| RingCentral RingEX Essentials | $129.95 | $259.90 | $25.99 × users, monthly billing; 250 outbound minutes each, then overage |
| MaxoTel Outright / BYO | $149.75 inc GST ($136.14 ex GST) | $299.50 inc GST ($272.27 ex GST) | $29.95 × users; Australian calls included subject to fair use |
| Vonex ONdesk Traveller or Freedom (also the plan offered to former MyNetFone customers) | $149.75 inc GST ($136.14 ex GST) + $125 establishment | $299.50 inc GST ($272.27 ex GST) + $250 establishment | $29.95 × extensions on a 1-month term; $25 establishment fee per extension, waived on 12-month and longer terms |
| Aussie Broadband hosted PBX (Zintel), softphone-only | $175.00 | $350.00 | $35 × users at the advertised entry price; 36-month contract, $1,260 minimum; GST status not stated |
| Microsoft Teams Phone with domestic calling + Microsoft 365 Business Basic | $217.00 | $434.00 | (AU$32.90 + AU$10.50) × users, paid yearly; 1,200 outbound minutes each |
| Aircall Essentials | $300.00 monthly ($225.00 annual) | $600.00 monthly ($450.00 annual) | A$60 (or A$45 paid yearly) × licences; GST status not stated; 1,000 outbound minutes each |
| 3CX Pro, 8 simultaneous calls, hosted by 3CX | $92.50 + trunk and calls | $92.50 + trunk and calls | ($635 + $475) ÷ 12; one licence covers up to 40 users; SIP trunk, numbers and every call bought elsewhere |
Add the two features most offices want, call recording and an IVR menu, and the order changes. At Jet a 5-user office pays $125 + $50 recording (five numbers at $10) + $25 IVR = $200 ex GST. At MaxoTel it is $149.75 + $10 recording = $159.75 inc GST ($145.23 ex GST), with IVR included. At RingCentral both features start on the Standard plan, so five users move from $129.95 to $279.95. At Aircall both are included in the A$300 monthly price. Vonex and SIPcity do not publish a recording price, and Dialpad does not list recording or IVR on its Connect plans.
Jet's Cloud Mobile is the line no competitor on this page publishes: a real Australian mobile number in an app on a staff member's own phone at $35 per user per month, on the same account and bill as Business Phone users. A sales rep or tradesperson who needs a mobile number callers can text costs $35 rather than a second handset and SIM, and the number stays with the business when they leave. Mix Business Phone and Cloud Mobile users freely; see how a business number on a personal mobile works.
Cloud phone system provider comparison (prices retrieved 29 October 2026)
These are the published prices for each provider's entry plan that includes Australian calls, or its entry plan with calls charged where that is all it sells. Every figure links to the page it came from. Prices change, so check the source before you buy. The per-provider comparison pages break each one out plan by plan across fifteen criteria.
| Provider | Plan | Per user per month | Calls | Setup | Term | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jet Interactive | Business Phone, Calls Included Plan | $25 ex GST | Australian landlines and mobiles, and SMS, included (fair use); 13/1300 calls 30c | $0 | Month to month, 1-month minimum, 3 users minimum | jetinteractive.com.au and the Business Phone CIS |
| SIPcity | Cloud Connect (Flex $5 with calls charged) | $19.99, GST status not stated | Unlimited local and mobile calls (acceptable use) | Not published | Pre-paid, no contract | sipcity.com.au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs SIPcity |
| Dialpad | Connect Standard (Pro AU$35 / AU$45) | AU$20 billed annually, AU$32 monthly, GST status not stated | "Unlimited calls"; countries not stated on the Australian page | Not published | Monthly or annual | dialpad.com/au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs Dialpad |
| RingCentral | RingEX Essentials (Standard $55.99 adds recording and IVR) | $25.99 monthly, $22.99 annually | Unlimited inbound; 250 outbound minutes per user | Not published | Monthly or annual | ringcentral.com/au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs RingCentral |
| MaxoTel | Outright / BYO (Everyday PAYG from $9.95 with calls charged) | $29.95 inc GST ($27.23 ex GST) | Local, national, mobile and 13/1300 calls included (fair use) | $0 | Month to month; handset plans up to 24 months | maxo.com.au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs MaxoTel |
| Vonex | ONdesk Traveller or Freedom (Lite $10.25 with calls charged) | $29.95 per extension inc GST ($27.23 ex GST) | Local, national and mobile calls included; 13/1300 calls 25c | $25 per extension on a 1-month term; $0 on 12 months or longer | 1-month minimum; 36 months with a rented handset | vonex.com.au and its ONdesk CIS, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs Vonex |
| MyNetFone | No current plan: MyNetFone's small business customers were sold to Vonex in 2021 and mynetfone.com.au redirects to Symbio | As Vonex | As Vonex | As Vonex | As Vonex | vonex.com.au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs MyNetFone |
| Zintel (now Aussie Broadband) | Hosted PBX, softphone-only (handset tiers quoted) | From $35, GST status not stated | Unlimited calls to Australian mobiles and landlines | Not published | 36-month contract, $1,260 minimum | aussiebroadband.com.au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs Zintel |
| Microsoft Teams Phone | Teams Phone with domestic calling (Standard AU$15 has no calls) | AU$32.90 plus a Teams licence from AU$10.50, paid yearly | 1,200 outbound minutes per user | Not published | Annual subscription, auto-renews | microsoft.com/en-au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs Teams Phone |
| Aircall | Essentials (Professional A$75 / A$105 includes unlimited outbound) | A$45 billed annually, A$60 monthly, GST status not stated | Unlimited inbound; 1,000 domestic outbound minutes per user | Not published | Monthly or annual; 3 licences minimum | aircall.io/en-au, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs Aircall |
| 3CX | Pro, 8 simultaneous calls, hosted by 3CX (Basic $485 self-managed) | No per-user price: $635 + $475 hosting a year per system | None; bring your own SIP trunk | Not published | Annual licence | 3cx.com, retrieved 29 Oct 2026; Jet vs 3CX |
Jet figures are from Jet's pricing page and Business Phone Critical Information Summary (version October 2026); included calls and texts are for normal business use under Jet's Fair Use Policy. MaxoTel's and Vonex's pages state that their prices include GST; RingCentral, Microsoft and 3CX figures are treated as ex GST per the notes on their comparison pages; SIPcity, Dialpad, Aircall and Aussie Broadband do not state GST. "Not published" means the detail was not on the cited page on the retrieval date. Dialpad and Aircall are global platforms that price in several currencies; the AUD figures are from their Australian pages.
What is usually extra
- Call recording. Jet $10 a month per number, with AI call summaries. MaxoTel $10 a month for the PBX. Included at Aircall. RingCentral from the $55.99 Standard plan. Not published by Vonex or SIPcity; not listed on Dialpad's Connect plans. Recording in Australia also has consent rules: see our call recording compliance guide.
- IVR menus and call queues. Jet $25 and $50 a month per account. Included at MaxoTel, Aircall and Microsoft Teams Phone; Vonex charges $5 for each extra IVR or hunt group; RingCentral's IVR starts on Standard and its Call Queues Booster is $55 a month.
- CRM integration. Jet CRM Sync $40 a month per account (Salesforce, HubSpot). Included on every Aircall plan (Salesforce from Professional); Dialpad from Pro; RingCentral from Premium; not published by MaxoTel, Vonex or SIPcity.
- 13 and 1300 calls. Rarely in the "unlimited" bundle: 30c at Jet, 25c at Vonex, 22c on MaxoTel's PAYG plan and included on its calls-included plans. International calls are extra everywhere.
- SMS. Included on the user's number at Jet. SIPcity needs a $10 a month mobile number; Aircall quotes Australian SMS rates on request.
- Desk phones and headsets. Optional at every provider here. Budget $200 to $500 outright or $5 to $30 a month rented; see Jet's hardware page for current Yealink prices.
- Porting and extra numbers. Jet ports in free and charges $50 to port out; Vonex $30 per port; MaxoTel first standard port free. Extra numbers are $2 at MaxoTel and Vonex, A$9 at Aircall, $10 at Jet.
- GST. Business pricing in Australia is usually quoted ex GST, but MaxoTel and Vonex quote inclusive and several global platforms do not say. Add 10% to any ex-GST figure to see what hits your bank account.
How to choose a cloud phone system on price
- Price the calls, not the licence. A $9.95 or $10.25 extension with every call charged can cost more than a $25 plan once a user makes a few calls a day. If your team rings customers, choose a plan with Australian landline and mobile calls included and check the fair use terms.
- Add the establishment fee and the term. Compare the first-year cost: a $25 establishment fee per extension, a 36-month handset contract or an annual plan paid up front changes the answer. Month-to-month plans with free porting let you leave if the service disappoints.
- Count the add-ons you will actually switch on. Recording, IVR, queues and CRM sync are where a $25 plan becomes a $45 plan, or where you are pushed to the next tier for everyone. Price the features for the users who need them.
- Check who the carrier is and where support sits. A provider that runs its own Australian network and issues your numbers can fix a fault end to end; a reseller or a global platform cannot always. Jet is an Australian carrier based in St Kilda, Victoria.
- Plan for staff who live on their mobile. Desk extensions with a mobile app cover office staff. For reps and tradespeople who need a mobile number customers can text, a virtual mobile number such as Jet Cloud Mobile at $35 per user per month is usually cheaper than a company handset and SIM.
Jet Business Phone meets the first four points at $25 per user per month ex GST: calls and SMS included, no setup fee, month to month, on Jet's own network, with recording, IVR, queues and CRM Sync as flat add-ons and desk phones optional. You can order it online in a few minutes, or compare it with any provider above on the comparison hub.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a cloud phone system cost per user in Australia?
Published per-user prices run from $5 a month (SIPcity Flex, calls charged) to A$60 a month (Aircall Essentials, monthly billing). Plans with calls to Australian landlines and mobiles included mostly sit at $20 to $35 per user per month: Jet $25 ex GST, SIPcity $19.99, RingCentral $25.99 with a 250-minute allowance, MaxoTel and Vonex $29.95 including GST. Add 10% to ex-GST prices for what you actually pay.
What is the cheapest business phone system in Australia?
On headline price with calls included, SIPcity Cloud Connect at $19.99 per user per month and Dialpad Connect Standard at AU$20 billed annually are the lowest published figures on this page, with Jet at $25 ex GST next. The cheapest total depends on what you add: Jet includes SMS and sells recording, IVR and queues at flat prices; SIPcity needs a $10 mobile number for SMS and does not price recording; Dialpad does not state which calls are unlimited. For very low call volumes, MaxoTel's Everyday PAYG from $9.95 a user can be cheaper still.
How much does a VoIP phone system cost for 10 users?
Between about $200 and $600 a month on published entry plans with calls included: $199.90 at SIPcity, $250 ex GST at Jet, $259.90 at RingCentral, $299.50 including GST at MaxoTel or Vonex, $320 at Dialpad on monthly billing, $434 for Microsoft Teams Phone with a calling plan and Microsoft 365 licence, and $600 at Aircall on monthly billing. Desk phones, recording, IVR, queues and CRM integration are on top where they are not included.
Is hosted PBX pricing per user or per extension?
Both exist. Most cloud providers (Jet, RingCentral, Dialpad, Aircall, SIPcity, MaxoTel) price per user, with one extension and usually one number per user. Vonex prices per extension, which is one per handset or app login, so a user with a desk phone and a separate app login may need two. 3CX prices per system by simultaneous calls, and Microsoft Teams Phone is a per-user add-on to a Microsoft 365 licence.
Are calls included in cloud phone system plans?
Often, but read the plan. Jet, MaxoTel Outright/BYO, Vonex Traveller and Freedom, SIPcity Cloud Connect and Aircall Professional include calls to Australian landlines and mobiles under fair use or acceptable use terms. RingCentral Essentials and Aircall Essentials include an outbound minute allowance. MaxoTel Everyday PAYG, Vonex Lite and SIPcity Flex charge every call. Microsoft Teams Phone Standard and 3CX include no calls without a calling plan or SIP trunk. Calls to 13/1300 numbers and international numbers are almost always extra.
Do I need desk phones for a cloud phone system?
No. Every provider on this page runs on a mobile or desktop app, and most small offices use the app alone. If you want handsets, budget $200 to $500 each outright (a Yealink T54W is $407 at Jet, $360.80 at MaxoTel) or $5 to $30 a month rented, and check whether rental locks you into a 24 or 36-month term, as it does at Vonex and on MaxoTel's MaxoPhone plans.
Are there setup fees or contracts?
It varies. Jet, MaxoTel and SIPcity publish no setup fee and are month to month. Vonex charges a $25 establishment fee per extension on a 1-month term and waives it on 12-month and longer contracts, with handset plans on 36 months. Aussie Broadband's advertised $35 plan is a 36-month contract with a $1,260 minimum. RingCentral, Dialpad and Aircall sell monthly or annual billing with the annual price lower, and Microsoft Teams Phone is an annual subscription that auto-renews.
Are business phone prices in Australia quoted ex GST?
Usually, but not always. Jet, RingCentral and Microsoft quote ex GST. MaxoTel and Vonex state that their prices include GST, so their $29.95 is $27.23 ex GST. SIPcity, Dialpad, Aircall and Aussie Broadband do not say on their pricing pages. When you compare, put everything on the same basis: add 10% to ex-GST figures or divide inclusive figures by 1.1.